Just curious. Is Ukraine considered Europe?

Yes, it is. And that could be the end of my first blog post. If only I didn’t like talking so much. Yes, I’m a chatterbox and I’m in a desperate (constant) need of an audience, okay? πŸ˜… Thank you folks!

Iryna Complains

It’s funny that I’m finally writing about it, expressing my feelings frankly and bluntly. Your Humble Blogger (that’s me πŸ’πŸ») is irritated by the fact that half of the world simply doesn’t know – or maybe doesn’t care to know – what Ukraine is. Seriously. I’ve been to quite a few countries around the world and guess what – tons of people still think we are a part of Russia. No, political issues aside, at least for now. I respect Russia and its citizens and have nothing against the country, I hope it’s clear. But come on guys, dedicate some time to learn that, first of all, Ukraine has never been a part of Russia – USSR yes, as well as a number of other countries – but never Russia as it is. Second of all, that has been more than 20 years ago, keep in touch!βœ‹πŸΌ

I know, I’m sorry. I had to get this out just once. Not all people are like this. Enough complaining. It’s just that it hurts my feelings that so many foreigners, especially those leaving very far from my country (across the Atlantic, for instance), know so little about the biggest country in Europe. Whaaat? 😧 Yep. Time to educate.

Iryna Explains

Nowadays, Ukraine πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¦ is an independent country that is situated in the Eastern part of Europe. So, the answer to your question would be “yes, Ukraine is considered Europe”. Well, at least geographically 😬.

And it really is the largest country ENTIRELY WITHIN EUROPE (to clarify, Russia is both Europe and Asia). It has a population of about 40 million people. Funny enough,Canada πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ , the country I live in now, is the world’s second largest country by total area and its population is actually smaller than that of Ukraine! 36 million to be precise.

Back to Ukraine. It borders many European countries like Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Belarus and Russia and Moldova. The latter is another example of an “underestimated” country, let’s call it this way. Yes, it may not be the most prominent country in the world but still deserves to be recognized.

P.S. Sorry Matt. Told you – frank and blunt out here.

 

 

 

Ukraine also has an access to two (try saying it fast a few times) seas to the south and southeast: the Black one and the Azov. And that’s where my hometown enters the game. Forgot to mention. I’m from Odessa βš“οΈ (find it on the map above yay), “the Pearl on the Black Sea” they call it. I agree. The city IS a pearl, the sea isn’t any more – not clean enough because of unregulated industries and ports. Promised to tell you all the truth, so here it is. Still, the quality of water doesn’t prevent tourists from coming to Odessa. Because who needs sea if you have a collection of cool beaches with big pools, variety of cocktails and active nightlife?🍸🍹🍾 (I do! I’m a bore, I know. Shh)

My Black Sea 🌊

Oh, yes. And the capital is Kiev. Just to wrap up our conversation for today. I know, I know, you crave for more πŸ˜„. I will expand on geography. Oh, I will expand on so much more. Next time and the time after it and the time after that time… well, you got the idea.

see ya my curious little friends πŸ‘‹πŸ½

/ Iryna Zheliasko /

#UkrainianInCanada

Leave a Reply

